Buttermere Cottage

June 2016

Spent 2 weeks in Buttermere cottage. The cottage is tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and the owners, Rachel and Graham, give a very friendly welcome. They were always eager to please and to help with suggestions of places to visit. It is situated in a lovely area and the Moray coast is full of beautiful sandy beaches and small harbours. I will definitely return as there are still so many places to visit.

Chris & Megs

Castle Douglas

January 2017

"This cottage fits the bill"

Spent new years in this cottage with two friends and our dog. We had the most relaxing enjoyable time possible. Quality time with friends in quality accommodation. The cottage is superbly equipped and very welcoming and comfortable. Our four legged friend can't cope with fireworks etc and this was a perfect retreat for him too, he settled in like it was home from home. Plenty walks around despite the weather and would love to return in the spring summer to explore more of these. Beautiful coastline and not too far from amenities should you run out. The welcome package was so nice and thoughtful and was much appreciated. The owners are so nice and friendly. If you want to get away from it all in lovely surroundings then this cottage fits the bill. Highly recommend it and would definitely return.

Jackie

Aberdeen


September 2015

'WoW !!
What a wonderful cottage from the decor to the furnishings everything was immaculate. Every little detail thought of and supplied. From the welcome basket and the milk and cakes in the fridge, DVD's, Books, CD's, Board Games and leaflets of places to go and see with maps etc, the toiletries and everything else in between. Practically everything you could need.
The bed was so comfortable I had the best nights sleep in ages. The living room was so cosy and relaxing it made us almost reluctant to go out.
We found the cottage a perfect base to explore the North east of Scotland and all the little harbours along the Banff coast.
The Ice Cream shop in Cullen has the most amazing selection of Ice Cream and the Beggars Belief cafe in Portsoy is a quirky little place and they do lovely sandwiches and light lunches.
The owners of the cottage couldn't do enough for us and were always on hand should we need them for anything.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a wonderfully luxurious break away from it all. We will definitely be staying here again.'

Cath & Phil
Warrington

Everyone gets the VIP treatment at Buttermere Cottage. We treat every guest as if they were the first. We want all our visitors to feel welcome and instantly at home. 


Please read our reviews for yourself. Genuine comments from happy guests. 


We will always strive to provide you with the perfect holiday experience. 


October 2016

“Simply The Best”
Been in UK for 5 months, have stayed in lots of cottages this is the best yet! Attention to detail is superb. Everything was spotless and comfortable, lovely fluffy towels, good quality linen, furnished to perfection. We were very impressed with the quality of the cooking equipment, dinner service, placemats Etc
Rachel and Graham made us feel very welcome, even invited us to arrive early. The "welcome pack" included muffins which were just yum!
This couple have done everything possible to make the cottage home from home, and more, lots of advice on where to visit, eat and shop.
Cottage is in a fantastic area for touring. Go into all the small fishing villages, they are all individual and full of history, loved the 17th century harbour at Portsoy, Pennan was another favourite. The Whisky Trail, castles and general countryside are all within easy reach as is Walkers and Deans shortbread factory shops and Baxters museum and shops.
Plenty to do for a week or two.
Thanks again for such a delightful cottage.

Sylvia

Australia

For chatty news about the wildlife and what's going on, please see our Facebook page.

Guest Book Comments

"The cottage is lovely; comfortable and relaxing. The area is great for cycling, walking and exploring"                       

Visitors from Glasgow, July 2015


"Beautiful cottage for a week's holiday in Scotland. Setting, amenities, everything was really perfect"

Visitors from Romania & Poland, August 2015


"We will certainly recommend Buttermere Cottage, everything was of first class standard"

Visitors from Lanark & Derry, August 2015


Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated  ~  Graham & Rachel

Reviews

July 2015

'Cottage is immaculate and finished to a really high standard, which made our stay really pleasurable.
The owners have thought of everything - very impressed.
The surrounding countryside is outstanding and the coast is just a short drive away, on quiet country roads.
Plenty of walks (some very windy!) and plenty to see.
We would highly recommend Buttermere cottage, if you are looking for a high end premium experience, in a lovely setting.'

Andy & Deidre 

Leicestershire

August 2015

'I just spent a wonderful week at the Buttermere cottage. This beautiful cottage is wonderfully located – a short drive to the coast as well as easy access to the many castles in the region.  The cottage itself is well equipped and tastefully decorated. The skylight in the kitchen along with the lovely countryside view makes this a welcoming space to prepare and share meals with friends.  The living room is peaceful and the electric fireplace creates a cozy atmosphere. The bedrooms are equally well designed. The owners are extremely welcoming and available to help wherever needed.  I will most certainly be revisiting this delightful place.'


Ely ( a happy and relaxed guest).